Favorite Albums of 2015 (Episode 1550)

This week brings 2015 to a close with a listen to songs from Johnny Full-Time’s favorite albums released in 2015. Instead of telling you what we think is the “best” new music each year, JFT combs through all of the music that flowed into the studio over the last 12 months and hand picks tracks from his favorite discs. There is some amazing material here; but we’d like to hear from you! What was your favorite song, album, or episode of Full-Time Blues Radio this year? let us know in the comments section here OR at our Facebook page.

And, be sure to look below the playlist, this week, for a music video by JJ Appleton and Jason Ricci. They recorded Blind Willie Johnson’s song “Nobody’s Fault But Mine” for their new album Dirty Memory, one of John’s favorites of 2015.

1. Amy Helm – Spend Our Last Dime – Didn’t It Rain
2. Ian Siegal – Heavenly Houseboat Blues – The Picnic Sessions
3. Pokey LaFarge – Cairo, Illinois – Something In The Water
4. N.M.O. – Annabel – Freedom & Dreams
5. Albert Cummings – Movin’ On – Someone Like You
6. The Beat Daddys – You Made Me Cry – Hoodoo That We Doo
7. JJ Appleton & Jason Ricci – Jason Solo – Dirty Memory
8. Muddy Waters 100 – Forty Days and Forty Nights ft. Gary Clark Jr.- Muddy Waters 100
9. Steve Earle & the Dukes – King of the Blues – Terraplane
10. Leo “Bud” Welch – So Many Turnrows – I Don’t Prefer No Blues
11. Bobby Rush – Hey Western Union Man – Chicken Heads:
A 50-Year History Of Bobby Rush

12. JD McPherson – Mother Of Lies – Let The Good Times Roll

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Favorites 2014

Listen: Christmas 2015

Listen: Episode 1548

Listen: Episode 1545

Stream This Episode On Demand

The playlist for this week features a foundation of incredible songs. Built upon that foundation, somewhat unintentionally during production, are tracks from heavyweight names like Joe Bonamassa, Coco Montoya, and Albert Cummings!

mikeschermerThe featured selection from inside “Johnny’s Mailbox” is “Blues In Good Hands.” It’s the title track off the new album by Mighty Mike Schermer. The record is available now from Finedog Records, through a partnership with the Vizztone Label Group.

Mike Schermer has long been lauded for his skill set. He’s a fantastic guitarist, and he possesses an enjoyably unique vocal sound. He is most highly regarded, perhaps, for his skill with the pen. Schermer is an incredibly talented songwriter, and his ability to translate life into lyric is masterful.

This album features 13 songs written or co-written by Mike. There are special guests appearing throughout, like Tommy Castro, Marcia Ball, John Nemeth, Carolyn Wonderland, and many others! Blues In Good Hands is available now through all of the usual channels, including Amazon You can also purchase it at Mike Schermer’s live concerts. Get his tour schedule, information about this disc, and more on his official website, Mighty-Mike.com

1. The Ragpicker String Band – Lonely One in This Town – The Ragpicker String Band
2. Laura Rain and the Caesars – Gold – Gold
3. Joe Bonamassa – Trouble Town – Different Shades Of Blue
4. The Reverend Shawn Amos – Boogie – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You
5. The Peterson Brothers – Hey Baby – The Peterson Brothers
6. Andrea Marr Band – Who Am I To Judge You – Live Blues Party At
The MBAS House Of Blues

7. Hans Theessink & Terry Evans – Delta Time – True & Blue Live
8. Anthony Geraci & the Boston All-Stars Band – Blues for David Maxwell –
Fifty Shades Of Blue
9. N.M.O. – Away, Way Too Long – Freedom & Dreams
10. Kathy and the Kilowatts – Never Trouble Trouble – Groovin’ With Big D
11. Coco Montoya – I Need Your Love In My Life – The Best Of Coco Montoya –
The Alligator Years

12. Albert Cummings – Old Dog – Someone Like You
13. Mike Schermer – Blues In Good Hands – Blues In Good Hands

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Episode 1544

Listen: Episode 1543

Listen: Episode 1542

Listen: Episode 1516

This shift on Full-Time Blues Radio features a dozen songs, and every one of them comes off an album that has never been featured on the show before! It’s a part of our continued commitment to bring you the widest variety of new Blues music. In the midst of all of this great new music, you’ll see there are three international releases, this week, from the UK, Finland and Australia!

Stream This Episode On Demand

Courtesy Up2Zero Ent.

The featured selection from inside “Johnny’s Mailbox” is “Whiskey Train,” a fantastic track off the album Electric Field Holler by Anthony Gomes. This CD was released March 17, 2015, and it debuted at number 3 on the Billboard Top 10 Blues chart. It’s a terrific album of straight ahead Blues Rock. Purists will likely shy away from this release if they can’t handle the heavy stuff; but the folks out there who like their Blues loud are going to eat this up!

Make sure to check out the video located below this week’s playlist. It comes to us from Anthony Gomes’ official YouTube channel, and it takes you behind the scenes of the recording sessions for Electric Field Holler. Anthony wrote or co-wrote all of the songs from this album. You can find complete details on the CD, his tour schedule, and much more, on his official website AnthonyGomes.com

Courtesy Red House Records

This week, “The Vinyl Report” has information and a track from Charlie Parr’s upcoming release, Stumpjumper. This is the 13th album overall for this songwriter/vocalist/multi-instrumentalist, but it marks Charlie Parr’s label debut with Red House Records.

Stumpjumper is scheduled for release on April 28, 2015. It will be available on vinyl-LP, as well as in digital formats and CD. Out of the 12 tracks on the disc, 11 are original compositions; but the song chosen for this week’s show is an original interpretation of a song that has been around for over a century: “Delia.”

1. NMO (North Mississippi Osborne) – Lonely Love – Freedom & Dreams
2. Debbie Davies – It’s All Blues – Love Spin
3. Barbara Blue – Love Is After Me – Memphis Blue – Sweet, Strong & Tight
4. Rusty Wright Band – Ain’t That the Blues – Wonder Man
5. T Belly – Respectable Man – Dead Men Don’t Pray (UK)
6. Sidney Green Street Band – Bama Bounce – SGSB
7. Charlie Parr – Delia – Stumpjumper **Vinyl**
8. Ray Cashman – Let the Good Times Roll – Desolation
9. Clayton Doley – Crooked Crawl – Bayou Billabong (Australia)
10. Slam Allen – All Because of You – Feel These Blues
11. Turn On – Find Another Fool – Diamond In The Rough (Finland)
12. Anthony Gomes – Whiskey Train – Electric Field Holler

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Episode 1515

Listen: Gary Burnett Interview

Listen: Spiritual Side 2015