Listen: Episode 1624

Courtesy Shakedown Records

Courtesy Shakedown Records

This week’s shift inside the workshop features the new album by The Soul of John Black, as well as a cool Diddley meets Hendrix interpretation of “Who Do You Love?” and a pair of teenage brothers who have already been playing music for newarly ten years!

One of my favorite forms of the Blues is the North Mississippi Hill Country style, and that style is being kept alive by some sincredibly talented folks. One of those men is Lightnin’ Malcolm, and he’s released a brand new album. The featured selection from inside “Johnny’s Mailbox” is “Gettin’ Dark” by Lightnin’ Malcolm. It comes off his highly anticipated new release Foot Soldier. Malcolm went back to his beginnings on this disc, opting to perform as a one man band for all but two of these tracks. He wrote all of the songs on the disc, and produced the record, as well!

You can find out more about this CD, get Malcolm’s tour schedule, and much more on his official website,

1. The Soul Of John Black – Thursday Morning – Early In The Moanin’
2. Reverend Freakchild – Who Do You Love – Illogical Optimism
3. Ted Drozdowski’s Scissormen – Beggin’ Jesus – Love & Life
4. The Low Counts – Cant’ They See – Years Pass By
5. Ramblin’ John Jennings – I Saw A Wheel – Illogical Optimism
6. McDowell Brothers – Jam – Tribute To Inspiration
7. The Peterson Brothers – Don’t You Lie To Me – The Peterson Brothers
8. AG Weinberger – Standin’ Around Cryin’ – Mighty Business
9. The Nighthawks – Jana Lea – Back Porch Party
10. Billie Williams – Runnin’ Back – Billie Williams
11. Anni Piper – Blackberry Brandy – More Guitars Than Friends
12. Janiva Magness – When You Hold Me – Love Wins Again
13. Lightnin’ Malcolm – Gettin’ Dark – Foot Soldier

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Episode 1623

Listen: Episode 1622

Listen: Episode 1621

Listen: Episode 1546

Stream This Episode On Demand

This week features some excellent new releases, including the highly anticipated CD/DVD set, Songs From The Road by Thorbjorn Risager & the Black Tornado. Their song “China Gate” kicks off the show, and if you scroll down below the playlist, you can watch a video from the DVD for their performance of “Rock ‘n’ Roll Ride!”

Courtesy Destin Records

Courtesy Destin Records

The featured selection from inside “Johnny’s Mailbox” is “Older Fool” by Chris Beard. It comes off his new CD, Eye Of The Witch, and it features Chris joined in studio by his father, Joe Beard. Chris grew up surrounded by the Blues. In the liner notes to this album, Chris’ fifth release, the guitarist, vocalist and songwriter recalls visits to his boyhood home from Buddy Guy and Matt “Guitar” Murphy.

Chris burst onto the scene in the late 1990’s, releasing his debut CD and earning a Best New Artist Debut at the Blues Music Awards (which were called the W.C. Handy Awards at the time.) Chris’ most recent album came in 2010. In between all of that, he suffered a small stroke that drastically altered his approach to guitar playing. Where he once played fast and furious, Beard now slows his playing and gets every ounce of emotion from each note.

Eye Of The Witch is available now digitally on CD Baby and iTunes. You can also pick up a copy directly from Chris at one of his live shows. You can find out more about Chris, his music, and tour schedule on his official website,

1. Thorbjorn Risager & the Black Tornado – China Gate – Songs From The Road
2. Randy Mcallister – You Lit the Dynamite – Gristle To Gold
3. Leo “Bud” Welch – Poor Boy – I Don’t Prefer No Blues
4. Crooked Eye Tommy – Come On In – Butterflies & Snakes
5. Andra Faye & Scott Ballantine – Coulda Woulda Shoulda – Could Woulda Shoulda
6. Trudy Lynn – Just A Little Kiss – Everything Comes With A Price
7. Scott Ellison – School Girl – Elevator Man
8. Wendy DeWitt with Kirk Harwood – Feel So Bad – Getaway
9. Davina and the Vagabonds – Away From Me – Sunshine
10. Steve Howell & the Mighty Men – Viola Lee Blues – Friend Like Me
11. Steve Earle & the Dukes – The Tennessee Kid – Terraplane
12. HowellDevine – Let You Go – Modern Sounds Of Ancient Juju
13. Chris Beard – Older Fool – Eye Of The Witch

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Episode 1545

Listen: Episode 1544

Listen: Episode 1543

Listen: Episode 1508

Stream This Episode On Demand

This week’s shift inside the home for new & independent Blues music adopted an unintentional theme. When work began on this episode, it started like any other; but as I started to flesh out the show, it became clear that most of the artists featured draw on a wide spectrum of genre influences and frame their Blues around these diverse styles. You’ll hear Folk, Gospel, Country, Rock and Soul standing shoulder to shoulder in the songs, this week. You’ll also hear music from top names like Eden Brent, Bob Dylan, Jorma Kaukonen and Johnny Winter.

Courtesy Eclecto Groove Records

The featured selection from inside “Johnny’s Mailbox” is “Reason To Bleed,” the title track from California-based duo My Own Holiday. The young pair play Rock music that has a distinct Blues influence. The album Reason To Bleed features 13 original songs and it is available now from Delta Groove Music subsidiary Eclecto Groove Music. You can find out more information on the band’s Official Facebook Page.
Click Here to Listen to Samples of Every Track

Listening to this week’s playlist inspired me to take a brief second during the show and offer some thoughts on the current state of the Blues and the discussion amongst fans about how to reach a younger audience. Don’t miss it, and comment below with your thoughts!

1. Fife & Drom – Wicked Tongue – Introducing Fife & Drom EP
2. Michael Jerome Brown – Bull Doze Blues – Sliding Delta
3. Eric Bibb – Rosewood – Blues People
4. Jorma Kaukonen – The Terrible Operation – Ain’t In No Hurry
5. Michele D’Amour and the Love Dealers – Hey Bully – Sin Comin’ On EP
6. Bob Dylan – That Lucky Old Sun – Shadows In The Night
7. Eden Brent – The Last Time – Jigsaw Heart
8. Michael Hardie – A Love Like Mine – REAL
9. Johnny Winter – Blue Monday (feat. Dr. John) – Step Back
10. The Voodoo Fix – Hard To Change (Let It Go) – Step Right Up EP
11. Rev Raven & the Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys – Hawiian Boogie #3 – Live at the Red Rocket
12. Eliza Neals – Pretty Gritty – Breaking And Entering
13. My Own Holiday – Reason To Bleed – Reason To Bleed

You Might Also Like:

Listen: Episode 1507

Listen: Episode 1506